Prayer

1 Timothy 2:1-7

Verse One:  The first thing I want you to do is pray.

Start everything with prayer. Whatever it is, if you want it to be successful, pray about it.

Verse Two: Pray especially for rulers and their governments to rule well so we may live peaceful and quiet lives.

I always begin my people prayers with close family first, then other family and friends, acquaintances, friends of friends, and at the end I get to the leaders of my country along with people in disasters around the world. I’ve never considered praying for the rulers of other countries. Paul says they should be first on the list. What a good idea. I wonder if we all prayed for Osama bin Laden, could God get through to him and change his heart the way He changed Paul’s? It couldn’t hurt to try. And while we’re at it, pray for every leader around the world.

Verse Four: God wants everyone to be saved.

John Watson, one of my first Christian mentors, told me that the only reason we are still on earth is to spread the Gospel of Christ. If God just wanted us to worship Him and be in fellowship with Him and each other, He’d take us on up to heaven where we could worship and fellowship in style. 

We should always be sharing the Good News of Jesus Christ, and as Francis of Assisi said, “use words if necessary.” To be successful we need to begin each day with prayer, praying first for our leaders and then that God would show the best way to present Him to the people that we meet.

Verse Five: There is one God and only one, and one Mediator between God and us–Jesus.

This is semantics, saying “God” to represent “God the father.” The fact that Jesus is the Mediator between God and us, but He is also God and there is only one God, well, how does that make sense? It speaks a great truth to me: God’s ways are so far above mine that I will not understand everything until it is shown clearly to me in God’s presence. I am sure there will be lots of wonderful surprises.

Amen!

This entry was posted in New Testament and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

